Random Thoughts

Anything under the sun

Is GOD Really Great?

Leave a comment


First posted in: http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=207330585967117

 

We can hear many people say, sing and shout, “I believe in GOD for GOD is Great!” There is even a cliché that we can also hear from youth camps or any religious camps which says, “GOD is Great, all the time and all the time, GOD is Great!” Nonetheless, do we really believe, at all times, that GOD is Great? Is GOD really Great, all the time?

The Gospel for today, (May 3, 2011) which is taken from the Holy Gospel of John 14:6-14, is anchored on three main points: (1) GOD’s Greatness; (2) faith in GOD; and (3) responding GOD’s Greatness.

In verses 13-14, Jesus said to his disciples:

“And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.”

This is a clear manifestation of GOD’s Greatness and whoever hears this will surely exclaim and tell to the whole world that GOD is REALLY Great! I am very certain that we can testify to GOD’s Greatness as we recall all our prayers that have been answered, may it be immediately answered or answered after waiting for centuries.

I recall one of my favorite stories of saints – the story of St. Augustine of Hippo in North Africa. Augustine was not as holy as he was in his later life during his teenage days. His life was not pure and chaste; he was hungry for sex that he had a mistress when studying in Carthage.  “Augustine was, as we would say now, such a brat that he even once said to Monica his mother that there would be no problems between them if she gave up her faith [1].” His mother, St. Monica, prayed persistently for him for 20 years until Augustine was finally converted to Christian Catholic and won the battle against impurity.

Indeed, GOD is great for He renewed the life of a very unclean person but it must also be emphasized that it took St. Monica a high dosage of patience and most of all, Faith in GOD. When we pray or when we ask something from GOD, we believe in GOD and we believe that He will answer our prayers.It is never the case that we ask from Him but we do not believe in Him; if so, our prayers might not be answered.

For an instance, when you have recurring pain in your stomach, you do not go to a cardiologist but to a gastroenterologist because you believe that the latter can help you since diseases involving the stomach and the entire digestive system is his/her field of specialization while the cardiologist only specializes on diseases involving the heart and the entire circulatory system. However, GOD does not have only one field of specialization because GOD is a Doctor of ALL problemsThis alone shows that GOD is, INDEED, Great!

On the other hand, you may also complain: if GOD is Great, why isn’t He answering some of my prayers? I have been asking GOD for an iPad but after eight months, I haven’t received an iPad. I have praying to GOD for a laptop but He hasn’t answered my prayer yet. I asked GOD for high grades and to win in all contests, but I only got average grades and I only won in some contests.

Many people see me very successful, blessed, happy, and a person with no problems perhaps because of high grades, of the medals I obtained, of a happy family, or of so many activities I joined. But never did they know, as human as I am, problems also came into my life and I remember one of the most significant of these. I was in the second year of high school when my parents had a grave misunderstanding but unlike other children, I never got depressed. I did not even mind it and thought everything would be just fine. Until one day, during our Christmas vacation, my mother went to Bohol to attend their Christmas party. On that day, my eldest sister’s classmate in Cebu informed us via text message that she (my sister) was admitted to the hospital for a lingering pain in stomach. My mother shifted her travel from Bohol to Cebu to follow up my sister and watch after her. Only later when they finally went home did my mother told us the truth that she was about to walk away from home because she could no longer bear the pain she had with my father.

Everything has GOD’s purpose(s), may this everything pleases us or not. This, too, is a cliché but it is true. GOD may have not given you an iPad because it might get lost or robbed and when it does, it would really break your heart. He may have not given you a laptop because it may become your addiction and you may forget about your studies, family or even GOD. He may have not bless you with high grades or let you win in all contests because you may become proud of yourself and when you will fail once, you may be so depressed.

GOD always knows what is best for us. He knows when is the right time to answer our prayers or what requests he must not answer as they may put us to jeopardy. GOD is our Creator; He holds the blueprint or the framework of our lives. To His plans we must abide, may these plans look pleasing to us or not. This is what we call GENUINE Faith in GOD.

GOD is truly Great in our lives and as grateful persons, we need to respond to His Greatness.GOD’s Greatness must not only be contained within ourselves; it is ought to be shared and proclaimed for GOD’s Greater Glory. Some people responded by sharing the things they have. Some joined religious organizations to serve Him and to testify His Greatness. Nevertheless, the basic thing that one can do to respond is to show GOD’s Greatness through his/her words and actionsLet us love one another just us Jesus loves us for in verse 12, Jesus told his disciples:

“Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father.”

GOD is Great; believe in Him and respond to His Greatness! Ang tindi ng Lakas ng Diyos!

GOD is Great for He empowered me to write again articles about and for Him and His Great Love for us. This is actually what I have shared during my guesting in today’s household of Youth for Family and Life (YFL) Campus-High Based in Naval State University; I just did some elaboration.

For counseling and/or prayer requests, post your concerns/prayer request on my FB OFFICIAL PAGE: http://facebook.com/kristianlora.

PS: To LIKE, COMMENT and/or SHARE, you need to LIKE THIS PAGE first.

Reference(s):

[1] http://www.frtommylane.com/homilies/year_a/20.htm

Author: pchan_august

Juris Doctor (Law) Graduate. Iskolar ng Bayan. Activist. Environmentalist. Frustrated Singer, Poet and Writer. Computer Enthusiast. Servant of the Masses. God's Servant.

Leave a Reply

