Random Thoughts

Anything under the sun

OJT!

Leave a comment


PRAISE GOD! It’s OJT time for us, (UP) Komsai iBugs! I am having my training at Cebu Directories which is currently incubating at UP Cebu-DOST’s Techo Business Incubator (TBI).

Just a quick background of my OJT place — Cebu Directories is owned and co-founded by my awesome trainer Mr. Paul Villacorta in 2007. He told me during my interview that the idea of establishing Cebu (Online) Directories sprung out of his frustration in searching for places in Cebu online. When he came to Cebu, he hardly searched for places-to-go online so he decided to make an online catalog of these places. At first, it was still a WordPress blog until he decided to develop it into like an online “Yellow Page” with the help of his colleague. Since 2007, the site has been very helpful to everyone in Cebu especially to tourists.

It is indeed an honor to be working under Cebu Directories. On the technical side, the site is developed using Ruby on Rails language. This means, I am learning a new programming language and it is so cool because it makes me spend less time in coding, especially with its principle, “Test first, code later.” It is indeed perfect for rapid development.

Today is my 3rd day and I and my co-trainee are working on our first assignment which is due Sunday or Monday. Surely, there are a lot of things to do and a lot of things to learn. And so far, the greatest learning I had with our trainer is “to share, and not to be greedy of, our ideas”. GOD BLESS us all! ^^,

PS: Please visit Cebu Directories at http://cebudirectories.com/

Author: pchan_august

Juris Doctor (Law) Student. Iskolar ng Bayan. Activist. Environmentalist. Frustrated Singer, Poet and Writer. Computer Enthusiast. Servant of the Masses. God's Servant.

Leave a Reply

