Random Thoughts

Anything under the sun

Thesis, chances, and Faith

Leave a comment


sleepless-nights-for-thesis

Sleepless nights with my siblings at my brother’s rented space. I never knew that my brother took this photo back then.

 

I have not written for so long on my WordPress blog due to my Law studies. What I have written today for my first blog post since my last is an #FBThrowback of what happened FOUR years ago.

April 2013. I was struggling with my Undergrad thesis then. It was just few days and sleepless nights before the Graduation Day. I was already prepared that I would “sablay” literally (instead of getting the UP “Sablay” – a symbolic sash worn during Commencement Exercises in the University of the Philippines), that is, not graduating with my batchmates that year. Notwithstanding, I still continued working on my thesis, sensing some hope that GOD gave me those times. Though I did not ask for help (because I grew up doing most of my works independently), still, my entire family came to the rescue. My brother offered his rented space where my sisters and I could work on my thesis. My mother filed a leave of absence from her work and came to Cebu to lend any assistance she could lend. But, since a Computer Science thesis/special problem/capstone is too technical for them, all they could do was to proofread my manuscript, help me pop the ideas out of the corners of my brain, print my manuscript, and have it bound while I continued refining the software that I developed for my thesis. My father also helped in editing my manuscript over e-mail. As I have highlighted in the Acknowledgment section of my thesis, it was all a collective effort. (Read Undergrad Thesis Acknowledgment here: https://www.facebook.com/100000053506248/posts/605367546141690/)

Fast forward: my adviser told me that the UP Cebu University Council, during their deliberation of official candidates for graduation that year, gave me one last chance to have my thesis finalized. I did. We did. Eventually, I graduated that year with my batchmates and officially conferred with a BS Computer Science degree with Latin honor.

Such was a learning experience for me, and the lessons I got from my mistakes back then — I applied them when I was doing my Juris Doctor thesis last year, i.e., four years thereafter. I made a Gannt chart — one thing I learned from my Undergrad days — and tried very much to stick to it. The constant monitoring of our Thesis Committee also helped a lot. Consequently, I finished my Juris Doctor thesis on time, without having to pass through the hell of cramming I once passed through four years ago. Then, my Juris Doctor thesis was awarded Best Thesis together with the thesis of my classmate. But then again, it was another product of a collective effort. (Read Juris Doctor (Law) Thesis Acknowledgment: https://www.facebook.com/100000053506248/posts/1493430364002066/)

Indeed, a photo like this one speaks a thousand words, a story even. Mine is a long story to tell but I had to cut it short here lest everyone be bored. But, I would really love to thank all the persons who gave me chances and trusted me that I would rise from my mistakes. Had my Undergrad adviser and the UP Cebu University Council been stricter and not allow me to graduate that year, I would have not come this far to where I am today. To date, I did not know how the deliberation during that memorable day went — Was the decision of giving me a chance unanimous? Or if it weren’t, who were the persons who vouched for me? — but to the teachers who supported me, I am forever grateful. And of course, to my family, I am more grateful.

And to all of those who are struggling right now, I am telling you to soldier on, to finish what you have started, and to keep the Faith no matter what lies ahead. That is better than quitting at once and do nothing at all. “But, there’s no more hope. Graduation is just few days away.” Well, four years ago, I held onto what GOD reminded me through the Scriptures, “[w]ith man this is impossible, but with GOD all things are possible (Matthew 19:26).”

 

PS: Currently, I am having my review for the Bar Examinations this November 2017. Since the Bar Examinations have not yet been regionalized, we, law students from provinces, will still have to spend around P100,000 to P200,000 for the duration of the review until the examination proper. In this regard, I would like to take this opportunity to knock on your kind hearts for some financial assistance. Any amount will do. I will really cherish your help.

 

Author: pchan_august

Juris Doctor (Law) Graduate. Iskolar ng Bayan. Activist. Environmentalist. Frustrated Singer, Poet and Writer. Computer Enthusiast. Servant of the Masses. God's Servant.

Leave a Reply

